Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Burma supporters urged to lobby 40th Canadian Parliament MPs

Dear friends and supporters:

40th Canadian Parliament has reopened today with newly elected Members of Parliament (MPs). You might wonder the status of those MPs who were part of Parliamentary Friends of Burma (PFOB).

Good news is that 23 out of 29 are re-elected. Those who re-elected are alphabetically listed below:

  1. Bryon Wilfert (Liberal) – Richmond Hill, Ontario
  2. Bruce Stanton (Liberal) – Simcoe North, Ontario
  3. Christiane Gagnon (Bloc Québécois) – Quebec, Quebec
  4. Deepak Obhrai (Conservative) – Calgary East, Alberta
  5. Derek Lee (Liberal) – Scarborough-Rough River, Ontario
  6. Diane Bourgeois (Bloc Quebecois) – Terrebonne-Blainville, Quebec
  7. Gary Goodyear (Conservative) – Cambridge, Ontario
  8. Geoff Regan (Liberal) – Halifax West, Nova Scotia
  9. Irwin Cotler (Liberal) – Mount Royal, Quebec
  10. Irene Mathyssen (NDP) – London-Fanshawe, Ontario
  11. Jack Layton (NDP) – Toronto-Danforth, Ontario
  12. Jason Kenney (Conservative) – Calgary South-east, Alberta
  13. Jean Crowder (NDP) – Nanaimo-Cowichan, British Columbia
  14. Judy Wasylycia (NDP) – Winnipeg North, Manitoba
  15. Keith Martin (Liberal) –Esquimalt-Juan de Fuca, British Columbia
  16. Larry Bagnell (Liberal) – Yukon, Yukon
  17. Olivia Chow (NDP) – Trinity-Spadina, Ontario
  18. Patrick Brown (Conservative) – Berries, Ontario
  19. Paul Dewar (NDP) – Ottawa Center, Ontario
  20. Paul Szabo (Liberal) –Mississauga South, Ontario
  21. Rob Anders (Conservative) – Calgary West, Alberta
  22. Stockwell Day (Conservative) –Okanagan-Coquihalla, British Columbia
  23. Wayne Marston (NDP) – Hamilton East-Stoney Creek, Ontario

Those who not re-elected or run in the last election are:
  1. Alex McDonough, ( veteran NDP MP who did not ran in the election)
  2. Blair Wilson (Green Party)
  3. Garth Turner (Liberal)
  4. John Maloney (Liberal)
  5. Lloyd St. Amand (Liberal)
  6. Rahim Jaffer (Conservative)

In addition to MPs, PFOB has eight Senators. They are as followed:
  1. Sen. David Smith
  2. Sen. Joseph Day
  3. Sen. Mira Spivak
  4. Sen. Mobina Jaffer
  5. Sen. Nancy Ruth
  6. Sen. Percy Downe
  7. Sen. Raynell Andreychuk
  8. Sen. Vivienne Poy
Colleagues and supporters across Canada are urged to lobby your MPs to join Parliamentary Friends of Burma (PFOB). PFOB was founded in December 7, 2006, as part of Canada’s effort to support democracy movement in Burma.

-Canadian Friends of Burma-
The Canadian Friends of Burma (CFOB) is federally incorporated, national non-governmental organization working for democracy and human rights in Burma since 1991.
Suite 206, 145 Spruce St.,
Ottawa, K1R 6P1;
Tel: 613.237.8056;

Recent Posts from Burma Wants Freedom and Democracy

Recent posts from WHO is WHO in Burma


The Nuke Light of Myanmar Fan Box
The Nuke Light of Myanmar on Facebook
Promote your Page too