Thursday, January 22, 2009

Five soldiers commit suicide in Arakan in 2008

Narinjara News

Five soldiers of the Burmese Army in northern Arakan committed suicide in 2008 but the reasons for killing themselves are not known, said an army clerk from Buthidaung on condition of anonymity.

"According to an army report, they committed suicide after the army authorities refused let them go from the army. They wanted resign from the army," he said

The soldiers who committed suicide are : Zaw Ko from Battalion 550 based in Ponna Kyaunt on 12 March 2008; Zaw Zaw Min from Battalion 536 based in Rathidaung on 15 April 2008; Win Myint from Battalion 538 based in Rathidaung; Zaw zaw Thein from battalion 378 baed in Mrauk U on 13 November and unidentified soldier from battalion 551 based Buthidaung on 15 December.

According army sources, they committed suicide with their arms while at the army headquarters.

Though many soldiers have deserted the army with or without arms suicides are a rarity in the Burmese Army. However, incidents of suicide have increased over the last few years.

Most soldiers in the Burmese Army want to leave the army due to poor salary and other facilities but the higher authorities do not allow soldiers to retire, said the army clerk.

Recent Posts from Burma Wants Freedom and Democracy

Recent posts from WHO is WHO in Burma


The Nuke Light of Myanmar Fan Box
The Nuke Light of Myanmar on Facebook
Promote your Page too