Thursday, January 1, 2009

Nine NLD Youth arrested

Arrested 30th December 2008

Today (30 Dec 2008), the National League for Democracy (NLD) party held a ceremony to mark the 61st anniversary of Burma Independence Day at their headquarters.

After the event, nine NLD Youth members marched from NLD headquarters to Sanchaung Township, Rangoon, holding photographs and placards with Daw Aung San Suu Kyi's image.

They called for the release of all political prisoners, and demanded national reconciliation.

When they arrived at the public square in Sanchaung Township, they were arrested by members of the Swan Arr Shin (People’s Power Force) the regime's hired thugs, and brutally beaten. Their whereabouts are now unknown.

The nine are:

  1. Tun Tun Win (from Sanchaung Township)
  2. Htet Htet Oo Way (from Shwepyithar Township)
  3. Ye Ni Oo (Thkhin Ko Daw Hmaing's grandson, NLD Sanchaung Township)
  4. Pyae Pyae (Sanchaung Township NLD)
  5. Aung Phyo Wai
  6. Min Thein
  7. Win Myint Maung (aka) Pe Pyoat (Kha Yan NLD Youth)
  8. Kaung Htet Naing
  9. Thet Maung Tun
Sources from AAPP
Long Walk for Freedom and
Ko Aung Myo Tint

Recent Posts from Burma Wants Freedom and Democracy

Recent posts from WHO is WHO in Burma


The Nuke Light of Myanmar Fan Box
The Nuke Light of Myanmar on Facebook
Promote your Page too